Waltz In Exile


Opuscule
16 April 2008, 9:35 am
Filed under: P2 | Tags: ,

So Goat #1 got sent to his room last night before I even managed to get dinner on the table (he was simply acting like the goat he is, but that doesn’t mean I have to tolerate it.)  When I called him down to dinner, his whole demeanor was different: contrite, agreeable, sociable, bubbly.  After dinner, we were clearing the table and talking about how we needed to do bath time and perhaps pick up their room a little bit before storytime, and he got this sad little look on his face, so I asked him what was wrong.  And he looked up at me, almost pathetically, and said “Mama?  Can you not come upstairs just yet?” 

And I immediately (Mom radar) knew there was something he didn’t want me to see, so I said “Why is that?” 

And he said “I’m just — I’m sorry, I just —  Well, Mama, I was angry so I put a mean note on my door and I’m really really sorry.” 

So here I am trying not to laugh, because he feels so horrible about this that he obviously knows it was wrong to be mean (and I don’t want him to think it’s FUNNY to be mean, although Good GOD, a mean NOTE — that’s like a dream problem to have with him these days)  And I said “Well, if you’re sorry and you understand that being mean isn’t the way to work things out with Mommy, I’m sure it’s fine.” 

He was VERY relieved, and I didn’t think about it again until we went upstairs for bathtime, and I saw THIS on his door:

“DONT KUM IN.  EVER.  I am mad at you MOM.” 

And then, he signed it.  As if I wouldn’t know who wrote it. (That’s probably my favorite part.)

So what’s up in the land of adults who probably don’t leave mean notes on their doors for you…?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] personal favorite is her 6-year old’s angry admonition.  Check it out, have a laugh, tell your SAHM (Stay At Home Mom) friends about it, and join me in […]

Pingback by “Waltz” is the New Dooce « Lovesick Billy

The note currently hanging outside my 6-year-old’s room reads, “Shhh….my dodres [sic] are sleeping”. And she’s not afraid to remind anyone of the request.

Comment by Stacy

[…] Recent Comments Directive « Wa… on Unconditionalwaltzinexile on Overheard in the HauteRyan Houck on Overheard in the Hautewaltzinexile on UnconditionalNat on Unconditional Directive 20 June 2008, 8:49 am Filed under: P2 | Tags: Parenting I suppose I’m lucky I didn’t wake up to his breakfast order instead… At least he didn’t sign his name this time: […]

Pingback by Directive « Waltz In Exile

[…] Top Posts SolecismOpusculeEsculent […]

Pingback by Breakdown « Waltz In Exile




Leave a Reply

