Waltz In Exile


Tracks
20 June 2008, 1:12 pm
Filed under: the 'mill, the 'Pod | Tags: , ,

When you have a baby, it takes a while to get your body back. At least, it does for me. (My sister-in-law has ginormous babies with ginormous heads and bounces back like a rubber band. Hate her. [Kidding.]) Okay, fine. When I have a baby, it takes me a while. There. But “the baby” is 40 months old now, which means I’m well past the postpartum recovery period excuse. So even though I have a hate-hate relationship the treadmill, I have been logging hours and miles on the ‘mill every week in an attempt to more closely resemble my pre-goat self. Added bonus? PA keeps the goats occupied while I do my cardio workout and OH. MY. GOD. The alone time? SO worth it.

I’m pretty proud of myself. I’ve made some progress. The biggest change so far, though, has been the running. (Anyone who knows me knows I am not a runner. Honestly, if the hounds of hell were chasing me, I’d probably just lie down and pray for it to be over soon. Running would be futile. Plus, I’d get all sweaty-salty-tasty, and I refuse to season myself for them. SO NOT worth it.) I’m not signing up for any 5Ks anytime soon (read: ever) but I am starting to hate running a little bit less.

One thing that has really helped is using my ‘Pod (what’s with me and the overuse of apostrophes to make single-syllable words, you want to know? I’m a busy woman, that’s what) I have always struggled with cardio workouts because I get bored easily with all that monotonous movement (that isn’t getting me anywhere) and nothing to occupy my mind. But the ‘Pod changed that. I have walked/jogged/run through seasons 1-3 of House and Grey’s Anatomy and haven’t been bored once. It’s been great.

Now that I’m running more and more, though, I find that watching a show doesn’t work for my workout. What’s that you say? Oh, put some MUSIC on my ‘Pod? Well, there’s some there already. The problem is, it’s almost all PA’s stuff (Hate him. [Kidding.]) Don’t get me wrong — I love the Cure. And the Smiths. And REM. And U2. But that’s all sit-around-on-the-couch-and-reminisce-and-pretend-I’m-not-almost-40 music. I need quicker tempos. I need get-up-off-my-butt-and-stop-pretending-I’m-not-almost-40 music. Music to run to.

Like I said, I’ve never been much of a runner; this is all new territory for me. So if any of you have any ideas for a running playlist for the ‘Pod, please let me know. I can’t keep “Gonna Fly Now” on repeat much longer without losing my mind.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Both of these are free and can be found in iTunes:
1. The Perfect Mix by DJ Eros – go to the iTunes store and search for “The Perfect Mix”. Each of the tracks is free, and about 4 hours long.
2. If you might like to become enlightened while running, check out Zencast.org’s podcasts, also in the iTunes store. Make sure that the artist is ‘zencast.org’ and not ‘zenboy’, whose tracks are not zen at all.

Comment by Lovesick Billy

Hey, Boo — thanks! I’ll head right over to the ‘Tunes store to check it out. Although I must say, I think it’s a little early in the running game for “enlightenment.” For now, I think I’ll settle for distracting myself long enough to get through the workout 🙂

Comment by waltzinexile

the best song to run to (and I know it is cheezy) is Ricky Martin “Do you really want it!”. You will run your ass off!

Comment by Misty

Well, Misty, seeing how that’s the entire freaking point….

Comment by waltzinexile

I tend to work out to Eddie

Comment by Heather

What is this treadmill that you speak of? My iPod is in my car to stave off the unthinkable bad radio choices of this town.

Comment by Stacy

…yes, I know, everyone has ellipticals now. I’m not remotely coordinated enough to deal with those things; I end up going backward. So the ‘mill it is.

Comment by waltzinexile

I’m a runner too now hee hee! Started 2 years ago when I turned 40. I am not…I reapeat NOT fast. But, I finish. I’ve done a few 5K’s, 4 milers (got one on the 4th) and a 10K. I’m even batting around the idea of a 15K… I know crazazee!!

What kind of iPod do you have? I have a Nano and got the Nike+ system. I can not say enough about how great that is. You can track your miles, speed, set goals, etc. It’s totally cool.

And another thing. I HATE the treadmill. I feel like a hamster on a wheel on that thing. Must run outside. Or on the track at the gym. 🙂

Comment by madspawn

[…] Posts HootenannyConversionWreckreationTracksSalmagundiAbout UsSupererogativeOverheard in the […]

Pingback by Conversion « Waltz In Exile




Leave a Reply

