Waltz In Exile


Harbinger
25 July 2008, 1:19 am
Filed under: Getting Old Sucks | Tags: ,

I am a child of the 80s. (Oh, fine. I am a child of the 70s. But my teen years were in the 80s. My FORMATIVE years, if you will.) And as such, I feel compelled to say: the apocalypse is upon us.

If you’d seen the JC Penney commercial I just saw, you’d understand. All of the actors in the commercial were dancing to an 80s song from an 80s movie. Exactly the way the characters in the movie did. (Except for the wardrobe, of course. I feel safe saying that Marilyn Vance didn’t clothe the cast from the racks at JCP.) It was jarring. Honestly, I think I finally understand how my Dad felt when he heard a song by The Who in a car commercial for the first time.

It was bad enough that Simple Minds let THE teen movie anthem of our generation be covered (and covered BADLY, might I add) for a commercial. But the real problem here is: THE teen movie of my generation – the one I can quote endlessly, the one that affirmed our collective teen identity as an amalgam of brain, athlete, basket case, princess & criminal, THAT MOVIE – appeals, according to the powers that be at Saatchi & Saatchi, to the JC Penney target demographic.

WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot, I ask you?!?

All right, maybe it’s not the end of the world. It’s definitely the end of an era, though.

P.S. — Even without bejewell’s rules (ha! that rhymes!), I’d have had to write this post. I do feel good knowing that I managed to follow rule #2 so well, though.

P.P.S. — If you do not understand a word you’ve just read, there’s no way you grew up in the 80s. Sorry ’bout your luck. It ROCKED.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Totally agree, the 80s fucking ROCKED and Simple Minds and that dickwad Jim Kerr sold us all the fuck out to the fucking JC Penney crowd. Bastards.

And worse yet, it’s the least effective marketing ploy EVER. Hellooooo, you “update” a memory of my precious teen years in such a crappy way that it makes me feel old (and we all know what we thought of “old people” when we saw the movie in theaters, right?) and you honestly think that I’m going to be swayed by your suggestion that I shop at JC Penney? Um, where the OLD PEOPLE shop? HA!

Comment by bejewell

Proof that the world IS an imperfect place. Screws fall out all the time and sometimes the light just doesn’t come on when you pull the trunk!

Okay, but how come Andrew gets to get up? If he gets up, we’ll ALL get up…..It’ll be anarchy!

Comment by Guy




Leave a Reply

