Waltz In Exile


Meme
20 August 2008, 12:47 pm
Filed under: Meme | Tags:

I.
AM.
IT.
I think.

MommyPie tagged me with a “10 Random Things” Meme. Which originally came from Steph at The Stephford Diary. Her rules are as follows:

“Tell us/me/the world 10 interesting/random/quirky/normal/silly things about yourself … things you’re looking forward to, things about you personally, whatever you want.”

This is a first for me. Apparently all the real bloggers do stuff like this all the time. Heaven knows I hate to be excluded, so even though I have no idea what I’m doing, I’m at least going to try. Here goes:

1. I cannot fall asleep unless my ears are covered up. I don’t know why, or even when it started (it has not e’er been thus), but I can’t.

2. I fell in love with my husband at first sight. Actually, I rounded a corner one day when I had to take a different path to class, and there he was, and the voice in my head (yes, I have a voice in my head. And yes, I tend to listen to it. Call that #3 for the list) said “Oh, there he is.” Like I’d been looking for him and expecting to find him. I didn’t actually meet him until 3 months later. It took him another 3 months (plus a week) of studying together, hanging out, and working on a physics project together, to ask me out. We got engaged 6 weeks after our first date, and married 9 months later. And every year on our anniversary, we toast to (and laugh smugly about) the fact that probably 90% of the people at our wedding thought we’d never last. This October, we’ll do that for the 12th time.

4. I convinced the Director of Gen Ed to waive the PE requirement for my undergrad degree with the following declaration: “I gave birth to a 9 pound, 12 ounce baby with a 14.75 inch CENTIMETER (edited after I realized I scared Natalie half to death) head. WITHOUT DRUGS.” (Okay, that’s not exactly true. I didn’t need to have it waived; they just hadn’t applied my transfer credit properly. But in order to convince her to change that, and to show that I was well aware of the importance of health and wellness, I did cite Goat #1’s birth experience. [Tip for dealing with administrators: If you start talking about gory personal details, they will do just about anything to shut you up.])

5. That voice in my head? Number 3? That’s where my daughter’s name came from. In early 2000, I was walking down the stairs at our house and the voice said “Bennett would be a great name for a little girl.” I wasn’t pregnant at the time, nor were we even discussing BEING pregnant. But I totally agreed with the voice. Best part? I married a man who knows better than to argue with me when the voice talks. After all, that’s where he got me from.

6. Today is the first official day of my new job as a Graduate Assistant. Frankly, I don’t care if I have to teach or do data entry or get coffee for my boss, because (say it with me!) TUITION. IS. FREE!

7. My son is named after his father’s favorite physicist. And his middle name is the middle name of Goat Daddy’s favorite composer.

8. This one’s for those of you who don’t already know me. In high school, I was: on the Math Team, the President of the French Club, a JV volleyball player, and a Varsity cheerleader. The Math Team didn’t know what to make of the cheerleader in their midst any more than the cheerleaders knew how to deal with my ever-present Calculus book. I spent most of high school trying to figure out how to fit in all of those places and never once feeling like I succeeded.

9. I’m told that I have been reading since I was 2. I have no memory of not being able to read, nor any memory of learning to read. It was just something I could do.

This might be cheating, but it wasn’t proscribed, so for anyone who wants #10, you’re going to have to leave me a comment, to which I will respond privately via email (number 10’s a doozy. And no, Dad, you do not want to know.)

All right, I think I’m done with this Mimi. Mehm. Meem. However you say it. Now I get to tag some other people, and so, to Alias Mother, The Bean, That’s What She Blogged, Lovesick Billy, and Cynical Nymph, I say: YOU. ARE. IT. And yes, I will still think fondly of you speak to you read your blogs even if you don’t participate.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

#7 makes you and your husband so many kinds of Awesome.

Goat Daddy is going to love that someone besides me thinks that is cool! There was some uproar from um, other people let’s say, when we chose his name.

Comment by Cynical Nymph

1. I can’t believe it is 12 years
B. I love my godson’s name
IV. What is number 10?

Comment by Heather

Please, please tell me you are exaggerating about the size of P2’s head…they don’t really get that big, right?!?

Um, have you seen the size of Goat Daddy’s head…? And P2’s cousin’s noggin was 15 CENTIMETERS (sheesh Mindee, get it right) even. I consider myself lucky!

Comment by Nat

[…] 21, 2008 by Allison My fellow Trixie fiend, Mrs. Waltz, over at Waltz in Exile tagged me for a 10-random fact meme.  Now that the swimming events are over, I have time to tend […]

Pingback by M&M’s in Moderation « That’s What She Blogged

[…] You May Not Know.. Reading my aunt’s blog gave me the idea to try […]

Pingback by Things You May Not Know.. « Former Goat Nanny Diaries

Number 2 and number 4! PFA! (PFA is a Beejism if ya didn’t already know that!) and I’m going to have to keep number 4 in mind…just in case I get bored and go after another degree.

Comment by Auds

I LOVE how you met your husband! And NO DRUGS with a head THAT big? You seriously rock.

Thanks for playing — awesome post!

Comment by mommypie

[…] then Mindee tagged me.  With this:  “Tell us/me/the world 10 interesting/random/quirky/normal/silly things about […]

Pingback by Me-Me-Me-MEME

OO I LOVE your meme. I did this one as I was tagged by Ms. Pie myself.

My hubby and I are going on 7years and met, married and had a baby in the first 1.5 years, in that order. Crazy!

Oh and the voices in your head? Totally normal…at least that is what my voices say.

My voices say that your voices totally ROCK.

Comment by KD @ A Bit Squirrelly

[…] then Mindee tagged me.  With this:  “Tell us/me/the world 10 interesting/random/quirky/normal/silly things about […]

Pingback by Me-Me-Me-MEME | The Bean

Your ISU has mine beat, masters students only have half their tuition covered, though there is much talk of changing that in the near future. Does this entitle me to #10… =)

Comment by Karen




Leave a Reply

