Waltz In Exile


Inaction
15 October 2008, 5:00 pm
Filed under: Family, Human Rights, Marriage | Tags: , ,

When the idea for this post came to me (via IM suggestion, LOL), I didn’t realize that today, October 15th, is Blog Action Day. This year’s Blog Action Day global issue is Poverty. While I know that this issue needs and deserves attention, this post is not about that. I could pretend to connect it with some fancy wording about “poverty of character” or how poverty is about lack, but I won’t. I apologize to anyone who came here hoping to read about my perspectives on Poverty, but I am up in arms about something a little different and this morning I realized I had had enough and it was time to do something. This post is about Equality. Nothing more, nothing less. Please feel free to leave and go to the Blog Action Day site and read/learn/help; I will not be offended in the least. As a matter of fact, since the rest of this post is a call to action, I really only want the supportive people to stay. I’m not here to persuade people who believe one way to come ’round to my way of thinking. I’m here to persuade people who think like I do to do something about it.

All right. So you’re here about Equality now. My specific focus today is marriage equality, and Prop 8 in California. So anyone who can’t or doesn’t support the civil rights of gay people to marry, you’re going to want to leave now, too. Go ahead over to the Poverty site.

Okay. I think we’re all on the same page here now. Just to clarify, this is the page I’m on (yes, it was a school project but I meant every damn word):

Love_And_Marriage

On May 15, 2008, the California Supreme Court overruled the California ban on gay marriage (see the full decision here). Now, Prop 8 on the California ballot seeks to amend the California Constitution to state that “only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California.” And I can’t sit back and watch this happen without doing something. So I’m asking: Please – if you live in California, vote NO on Prop 8. Now, I don’t live in California, but I can give money in support of groups who are trying to defeat this prejudicial legislation. I chose the Human Rights Campaign, but there are others: Equality California, NoOnProp8, and the ACLU. If you can’t give money, give words of support. Leave comments here to let them know that it’s not just celebrities who say No to Prop 8.

Vote. Give. Or speak. Pick one, any one. Please.

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks, Mindee. Sam and I love you, even in Exile.
xo,
B

Comment by Bronson Page

It truly galls me to live in a time in our so called modern, progressive society when civil rights are denied to all. I have several gay friends. Several are in committed, long term relationships. They do not push their “agenda” (though I hate that word) upon me, and yet government wants to push theirs upon them. What is the real fear? What is it we’re supposed to be afraid of? Happiness? Really? Last I considered it, happy didn’t equal scary.

I live in a state that, for a brief time last summer, allowed gay marriage. It was glorious to see the love and the joy on the faces of those who rushed to marry the people they love. We should all have that.

I’m surrounded by a core group of very Christian friends who insist they ‘don’t hate the sinner, but the sin.’ Why hate anything, I wonder?

Comment by foradifferentkindofgirl (fadkog)

I cannot wait to be ordained so I can refuse to do any weddings until I can do all weddings.

Comment by Hopeforthefuture

You are absolutely correct! That is a beautiful tribute that you wrote as well. My husband’s cousin officially came out to me before any of the other extended family (not my husband). We had always assumed (well I had, my husband was oblivious lol) and she trusted me to love her anyway, and I do. So much. Denying her or anyone else the right to live how they chose is wrong. I am not the dictator of other’s lives. I am free to marry, so she should be too.

Comment by KD @ A Bit Squirrelly

I live in a constant state of disbelief about this. I cannot believe there are so many people out there who consider themselves patriots but still believe that it’s okay to limit the civil rights of other American citizens in such a blatant, in-your-face way.

I like to think of myself as open-minded, but I’ve been around and around this issue and as far as I can tell, the only real argument against allowing gay couples, consenting adults, to marry is an argument of religion. And the last time I checked, we all lived under a constitution that requires the separation of church and state.

You don’t approve of the gay lifestyle? Fine. Don’t be gay. But to insist that everyone else in this country must live by the religious beliefs that you hold is simply unconstitutional.

I have yet to hear an argument against gay marriage that doesn’t center around religion. And you can’t ignore the constitution, folks. At least, you couldn’t before Bush Jr. took over.

And that is all.

Comment by bejewell

Look at all these thoughtful, kind, SANE people piping up to agree with you.

Almost makes you think there’s some hope for voting down Prop 8. Almost… This whole thing makes me feel nauseous.

What bejewell said, BTW. That. Yes.

Comment by cynicalnymph

I cannot WAIT to go to the polls so I can vote against hideous Prop 8!!

Comment by lesleykim

I ~WISH~ I still lived in California so I could vote against this!

Comment by Nevis

I meant to thank you much earlier for your kind and helpful feedback on my blog, regarding Prop 8, and for helping spread the word about the intolerance and injustice of this ballot initiative. Keep up the great work!

Comment by culturepress

I find this amusing, I am talking on skype voice chat with a gay couple right now and we are discussing their pretend future wedding (as in they have only been together like 7 months and we are joking about them getting married someday and what it would be like). I think that this will not be an issue in years to come, like so many other issues in the past. Women had to fight like hell to get to vote, now it is hard to comprehend that we were not allowed to. I anticipate if I have kids they will take it as a sign that I am old if I ever say, “Back when I was your age same sex couples were not allowed to get married.” Same sex couples are more and more being accepted by the general public, it is only a matter of time before the laws are changed to allow them their civil rights, the sooner the better of course, I wanna look hot in my maid of honor dress at my friends’ wedding!

Comment by Karen

there is some awful, hateful bigotry out there in the blog world: this is the stuff that reminds me that most people are decent and good and right the fuck on.

PS: coming to you live from Massachusetts where — what’s it been? three years? — of gay marriage has done nothing but create more of the families we need.

Comment by mspickettoyou

Oh I so wish I could vote against Prop 8. I have to console myself that I am spreading good faith and love and equality in the heartland, where our country may need it most, I guess.

Comment by Sus

I wish I could vote against it, too. WTF is wrong with people.

Comment by Tranny Head




Leave a Reply

