Waltz In Exile


Pass/Fail
5 November 2008, 5:34 pm
Filed under: Family, Human Rights, Marriage, Politics (yeah I went there) | Tags: , , ,

Prop 8, Prop 2, Prop 102, Act 1. All passed.
EPIC EQUALITY FAIL. TIMES FOUR.
I refuse to be discouraged. This is not over. We will just have to fight a little longer. And to do that, I can’t dwell on the injustice of the fact that the struggle for equality in this country is still. not. over. In the meantime,
check out the poem posted at Language Hat today. “The land that never has been yet,” indeed.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Isn’t it stunning what a huge step we can take as a nation in a voice toward equality, yet we still hold a, what? Fear? I don’t know. I had hope we could turn a few extra pages.

Great poem for a great day…

Comment by foradifferentkindofgirl (fadkog)

It just boggles the mind, especially in CA that Prop 8 passed. I’m still in shock. And I’m a saddened for my little brother, who worked so hard to help kill that thing. I want him to have the same rights I do. He’s equal in every way, so why shouldn’t he be able to MARRY just like I am.

Sad. So very very sad.

Comment by Auds at Barking Mad

**sigh** I agree…

Comment by KD @ A Bit Squirrelly

I’m focusing on the positive. Obama! Obama! Obama!

If I let my head go there about Prop. 8, I’ll just get all shitty again.

Comment by bejewell

Bigots. If anything, it’s only a matter of time. For most people under 30, same sex rights are a no brainer civil rights issue.

Comment by Antigone

Hi again, it’s me (Jenny). Yes, I’m still despondent and absolutely stunned that Prop 8 passed. I don’t even know where to begin in our fight to overturn this verdict, other than keep the issue alive. I think that’s important. There’s a protest against Prop 8 going on in L.A. today, and I’m with them all in spirit…

Comment by culturepress

I was up all night with my friends watching the results come in on prop 8, trying to not lose hope and be supportive of them. For me it was an all around horrible election. I hope when Iowa examines the issue of gay marriage next year (think I read January) they make the right choice. The Iowans like to obsess about how politically awesome they are, hopefully they will see it as a chance to be progressive and having a midwestern state show some sense will encourage the others to fall in line. If this happens you and I will have to stop making fun of Iowa ;).

Comment by Karen

Great spirit.

Never give up, never give up, never give up.
– Winston Churchill

Comment by libyansibyl

I really can’t believe they all failed. Or passed, as it were. Ugh. I can’t believe in California of all places that it happened.

Comment by Nevis

OMG! you used FAIL! OMG OMG OMG… must read blog now…. sorry

Comment by Former Goat Nanny

Thanks for your great comment. I’m really looking forward to taking look around your blog, thanks for stopping by and together I think that we are all going to make a difference, it just is obviously going to take awhile.

Comment by thebenevolentdictator




Leave a Reply

