Waltz In Exile


Over herd in the Haute (No, not a duplicate)
8 December 2008, 5:07 pm
Filed under: Family, Goats, Over Herd, P2 | Tags: ,

Alternate title: Snacks, 12/8/2008, v2.0

Goat #1: Mama? Can I have some hot cocoa, Mama?

Me: Sure. Why don’t you get a spoon and a straw, and I’ll get started.

Goat #1: Okay….Hey! What kind of cocoa is that, anyway?

Me (apparently not enunciating well as I wrestle with the stupidly attached envelopes of cocoa mix): Milk Chocolate.

Goat #1: What do you mean ‘no chocolate’? No chocolate cocoa??! (outraged) THAT WOULD JUST BE WATER!

Note to Santa: Please send me a house elf for Christmas. Kthxbai.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is how it started with Ted Kennedy. Next it was Scotch.

Comment by wpofd

I want a house elf, too, no fair! Especially after that “Scourgify” fiasco.

Comment by Jimh.

Dude…IDk what to say. Good luck.

Comment by kd@abitsquirrelly

To be fair to Goat #1, chocolate does deserve the respect it takes to enunciate the word clearly at all times.

Comment by Cynical Nymph

For heavens sake… GET RID OF THE ENVELOPES. FAMILY SIZE CANISTER. Look, you’ve reduced me to all caps in my frustration.

I’M GOING TO NEED ANOTHER OPTION IN THIS POLL.

Comment by aliasmother

It is not even the family size canister you need – you make it from scratch – MILK, COCOA, SUGAR, VANILLA, COCOA….really now – you HAVE known my mother long enough…

Comment by Heather

I’m an cocoa envelope kind of girl too much to my husband’s chagrin. He can make it from scratch himself if he wants to, otherwise it just takes to damn long!

Comment by Auds at Barking Mad

Very wise little goat –he’s absolutely right.

Comment by smalltownsmalltimes

Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog! And Goat #1 is correct….milk chocolate must be enunciated with the utmost respect and clarity. Just be thankful he wasn’t a PMSing woman who heard the phrase no chocolate

Comment by Sharond

I have packets for if I run out but the best way to make hot chocolate is to go to the store and buy a gallon of 2% chocolate milk and nuke it. Here in Ioway there is an awesome local brand, AE, that I am addicted to and pay the extra money for because it is sooooo much better than the other stuff. Also I put the packets in 2% white milk when out of the chocolate milk. Yes I am definitely a milkoholic, my doctor is pleased so I don’t have to go to MA meetings.

Comment by Karen

Somehow I managed to seriously butcher making homemade hot cocoa…I’m a packet girl myself…I even like the stale-feeling mini-marshmallows that come in the packets as opposed to the real deal.

Comment by Allison




Leave a Reply

