Waltz In Exile


Anthropomorphism
15 December 2008, 9:50 pm
Filed under: Family, Goats, P2, Photos | Tags: ,

So the Christmas Cantata was last night. Goat #1 was “Chicken #1” in the 1st grade play. I can honestly say, 100% objectively, that he was THE. BEST. “Chicken #1” in the history of holiday pageantry. (I can only imagine how great he’d have been if he’d played a goat. Alas, there were no goats in this tale of the Christ child’s birthplace. Horses, yes. Cows, yes. Goats, no. [Which, if you think about it, is crazy. Hellooooooo? Bethlehem? WAY more goats than cows.]) (Also, is anyone else thinking of “Love, Actually” now? I hope he gets to be “Lobster #2” next year.)(Also, also, I do not even want to tell you how jazzed Goat #1 was about his stage debut. Let’s just say my new nightmare is my sweet brilliant boy coming to me when he’s 16 and saying he’s not going to Yale, thanks, he’s moving to New York to be an actor.)

See for yourselves. Without further ado, here he is (Goat #1 as “Chicken #1”, 1st grade Christmas play, 14 December 2008):

There he is. Singing "Oh come on, be faithful."

There he is. Singing "Oh come on, be faithful."

Yes, I tried to correct him when he sang the song for me. No, he did not listen. This is, after all, the kid who gave us James Bond as an apostle.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Adorable! I gotta figure the baby Jesus would be all, “Yeah. That’s cool. Whatever works.”

πŸ˜‰

Comment by foradifferentkindofgirl (fadkog)

Goat #1? He is the AWESOME!

Comment by kd@abitsquirrelly

Of course Goat #1 is the best Chicken #1 ever – and I am not at all biased!
About Lobster #2 for next year though…there are restrictive dietary laws that make me think there were no lobsters – not even Floyd, Bubba, or Sylvia. Sorry.

Comment by Heather

This day and age, “oh come on be faithful” may actually be what we need!

Comment by TracyB

Aww! That’s so freaking cute. I love listening to the little people sing when they don’t know the lyrics and/or don’t care about the actual lyrics. πŸ™‚

Comment by Steph

I agree with Tracy, he has come up with a modern version of an old classic, good job Goat/Chicken #1!

Comment by Karen

The James Bond the Apostle thing has me cracking up all over again!

That pic is adorable, misheard lyrics or not.

Comment by Auds

Where’s the YouTube video?!?

Comment by Sam Page

Sing Little Goat #1, sing!
What a sweet photo. Looks like a shining moment.
I loved the James Bond post — incredible.

Comment by smalltownsmalltimes

Oh holy cow, I mean goat, he is cute!

Comment by Allison

How are there no goats in a Christmas play? Every nativity scene I’ve ever seen has goats. Horses, cows, sheep, pigs, GOATS. No chickens.

Comment by bejewell




Leave a Reply

