Waltz In Exile


Things-I’m-Not Thursday
22 October 2009, 11:06 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Asleep.  Which is ridiculous.  I’m exhausted.  I staggered through the day (okay, the week) and I’m lying here wishing there were something good on TV, or a new Hobb trilogy about Fitz, or a masseuse wandering the ‘hood looking for someone who wants a free massage.  And not sleeping.

I need better sleep habits.  Maybe better habits altogether.  Tips and hints welcome in the comments.  Come on, I know you people are all discipliney and healthy.  Prove it.

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

*delurking*
Seeing as I am the current Reigning Princess of Torrible Sleep, here is a bit from my acceptance speech:
– Have you had your vitamin B levels checked? When mine are low, I have night sweats and tossing-itis.
– Have you had your vitamin D level checked? D comes from the sun and not enough D can lead to lethargy.
– Try writing down what’s keeping you awake and come up with a plan to take action… that way, you can figure out what to worry about and what to REALLY worry about.

If all else fails, you could try visualizing a flickering candle. Each fleeting thought causes the flame to flicker and your goal is to keep the flame steady.
My Cousin swears by relaxing each toe, down the foot, up the ankle, the calf, to the knee, so on and so forth.

Comment by Stephanie of Stopbouncing

You’re not a very good lurker, LOL I know your name 🙂 Thank you for the excellent advice; it’s like my brain has stopped working and I’ve forgotten all of the things I usually do to problem solve, like keeping track of what else is happening, and relaxation techniques. You’re a lifesaver.

.

Comment by waltzinexile

you say that now… but when you’re restless, you’ll be cursing me.

Comment by Stephanie of Stopbouncing

OMQF I just realized that forEVER now, I hadn’t added you to my blogroll!?!? My apologies. Apparently next week’s TIN Thursday post will include “punctual.”. Sigh. Fixed now, though.

Comment by waltzinexile

Tylenol PM.
Better living through pharmaceuticals.

Comment by EKT

I really should have asked you first. This is my kind of solution. Next time I can’t sleep, I’m calling you. What’s the time difference, again?

Comment by waltzinexile

Seven hours this weekend.
I find, at least for me, and barring jetlag and assorted other details like 22 hour work days, insomnia is primarily a bad pattern. I like the few-nights-with-drugs, then night-without.
Like. A. Charm.
Or one could always try exercise. Ahem.

Comment by EKT

I can never pretend to be superior about anything…but an hour’s exercise each day (especially out of doors, where the body reads natural light) does keep me a happy girl. I feel for ya, sister.

Comment by Jocelyn

Does chasing the escaped canine convict count as outdoor exercise? Cuz if so, I got this covered already…

Comment by waltzinexile

I second the exercise suggestion. Not that I ever take my own advice, mind you, but it is sound. Perhaps a yoga class?

It sounds like your evenings are very stressful, so you may be having trouble winding down from them. Perhaps it’s time to rent out the children as indentured servants so that you can come home and relax? If you strike the deal right, you might not even need to work. Think how relaxing THAT would be?

Comment by aliasmother

I did try to send Goat #1 off as an apprentice to someone, but they wouldn’t bite. Side note: someone tell me WHY, exactly, that whole apprentice culture went away?

Comment by waltzinexile

How I cured my 2005 case of insomnia:
Okay, ready?
1. Do not go on-line after 9pm – too stimulating.
2. Do not go to bed until you feel sleepy – even if you went to bed really late last night. Trying to go to bed at 8:30pm if you normally go down at 11:30 will not work — no matter how tired you are.
3. Cover up/turn around your clock so you have no idea what time it is once you go to bed. Nothing makes insomnia worse than seeing the clock advance.
4. Do not try to make yourself sleep. It will never work. Just lie in bed and relax — if your mind can’t stop, get up and read until you feel sleepy again (without looking at the clock). Do not watch TV either (Esp. Bones [see #1]).
5. Try to go to bed at the same time very night and try to do the same thing before you turn out the light (like read). Rituals do help.
6. No pets in bed except for maybe one goat.
7. Know that sleeping pills can often cause rebound insomnia so if you take one tonight, don’t be surprised if you have trouble tomorrow.
8. Magnesium sometimes helps.
9. Feel better knowing no one is sleeping these days (I was so wired after MM last night, I tossed for like a good hour. Damn that Dick Whitman).
10. Thank me later.

Comment by smalltownsmalltimes

Step #4 is ridiculous and mean. David Boreanaz is VERY SOOTHING.

Comment by waltzinexile

Ummm…low-fat Oreos and baked lays? Those are healthy? Right?

Comment by Jessica

IT SAYS SO RIGHT ON THE PACKAGE. And I choose to believe the marketing design team at Nabisco. Who’s with me?!?

Sent from my iPod

Comment by waltzinexile

I don’t have shit. I have terrible sleep habits, and I’ve got the bags under my eyes to prove it. All I can say is B-O-O-Z-E. You’re welcome.

Comment by Bejewell




Leave a Reply

